African Press Association
Khama Balliart

Sundowns dominates CAF Awards nominations

Khama Balliart

Khama Balliart

CAIRO – THE top five shortlists for the Confederation of African Football (CAF) individual accolades have been disclosed.

In the African Player of the Year Award, holder Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Borrusia Dortmund) features alongside Riyad Mahrez (Algeria, Leicester City), Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool), Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Roma) and Islam Slimani (Algeria, Leicester City).

Newly-crowned champions Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa dominate the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) Award shortlist with four players.

Sundowns stars Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe), Keegan Dolly and Hlompho Kekana (both South Africa) and Dennis Onyango (Uganda) will vie for the award.

Rainford Kalaba of Congolese side TP Mazembe and Zambia is also nominated.

Votes from the members of the CAF Media Committee, Technical and Development Committee and half of the 20-member Panel of Experts decided the top five.

For the final phase, votes from the Head Coaches/Technical Directors of the 54 National Associations affiliated to CAF plus Associate Members, Reunion Island and Zanzibar, together with the other half of the 20-member Panel of Experts (10 persons) will be counted to determine eventual winners.

The 2016 Glo-CAF Awards Gala sponsored by telecommunication giants, Globacom, will be held on January 5 in Abuja, Nigeria.

– CAJ News